Select Page

Band of singer/songwriters known as We The Least take top honors

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (May 10, 2021) – Singer/songwriters Michaela DeLong, Nathanael DeLong and Cordell May, known as We The Least, have taken Songwriter of the Year honors in the 19th annual competition. The contest, hosted by CM United, is the longest-running Christian songwriting contest in existence. We The Least won the competition with the band’s song titled “Made You Too.” A video for the award-winning song is on YouTube.

We The Least band members were selected by a panel of judges comprised of Mike Weaver, lead singer for Dove Award-winning band Big Daddy Weave; Austin French, contemporary Christian recording artist on Fair Trade; Paul Wright, hip-hop and R&B singer/songwriter formerly on Gotee Records; and Ron Rawls, worship leader, Grammy-winning producer, and keyboardist/band director for Mandisa.

In addition to the title, winning the competition earns We The Least band members numerous prizes and opportunities, including radio promotion by A-Sides Radio Promotion, PR services by INOV8 PR and artist development consultation by McLaughlin Music Group.

For a complete list of prizes, go to

Each year, the contest names quarterly winners, with all first place quarterly winners becoming eligible to be selected as the annual songwriter of the year.

A full list of winners, including quarterly winners, is below:
19th Annual Songwriter of the Year – We The Least: Michaela DeLong, Nathanael DeLong and Cordell May

1st Place Winner (1st Qtr) – Dave Pettigrew
2nd Place Winner (1st Qtr) – Cameron Shaw
3rd Place Winner (1st Qtr) – Sarah Traynor

1st Place Winner (2nd Qtr) – Mark Boucot
2nd Place Winner (2nd Qtr) – Jeramy Reeves
3rd Place Winner (2nd Qtr) – Mitch Langley

1st Place Winner (3rd Qtr) – Michaela DeLong; Nathanael DeLong; Cordell May (We The Least)
2nd Place Winner (3rd Qtr) – Chris Smith
3rd Place Winner (3rd Qtr) – Jonathan Quigley

1st Place Winner (4th Qtr) – Jonathan Quigley
2nd Place Winner (4th Qtr) – Kathryn King
3rd Place Winner (4th Qtr) – Janie M Cunningham

The annual competition runs from January through December. The 20th Annual Songwriting Content currently is underway. Learn more at; all details can be found at; you may enter at

Judges for the 20th Annual Songwriting Contest are Clay Crosse, 4-time Dove Award-winning artist and songwriter; John Katina, lead vocalist and songwriter for The Katinas; Chrissy Conway Katina, vocalist and songwriter for ZoeGirl; and Cale Kight, primary songwriter, lead guitarist and vocalist for Love Like Gravity.

About CM United
Formerly CCM Network International, CM United, which was founded in 2002 by Jeff McLaughlin, is a membership organization with more than 4,000 members, consisting primarily of Christian songwriters, singers, bands and worship leaders. CM United’s premiere event is its annual songwriting contests. The 20th Annual Songwriting Contest is currently underway. Learn more at, like on Facebook and follow on Twitter and Instagram.

Jeff McLaughlin
CM United

Share This